Photo

Playing .TS Files Properly.... MY HDTV Pump/Elecard/MPEG2 Video Decoder Problems (Gitter/No Audio etc.)

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Dingle

Dingle

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 13 September 2006 - 10:26 AM

Hi all, i decided to make an account and post this because im sure, like many ppl, i spent the better part of my tuesday fixing zoomplayer/wmp to play .ts files properly.

Im a filter/codec NOOB and this topic is just about my experiences. It my or may not help ppl, but, hopefully i can at least help one person.

Please Refer to http://www.inmatrix.com/zplayer/formats/mpeg2.shtml for background knowledge of .TS (MPEG-2 Transport) files

NOTE: VLC Media Player ALWAYS works well for .ts files as it comes with all its own splitter/filters/codecs etc.
NOTE: Audio in .TS files can be encoded in a number of ways ie LPCM/AC3 etc. and audio codecs/filters were never an issue for me aslong as i had the correct audio codecs installed
SIDE NOTE: I was NEVER able to get ZoomPlayer to play UDP Streams Properly.

Anyway back to the issue at hand.....The problem with playing .ts files lies in:
1) Which .TS Splitter you use (a.k.a MPEG-2 Splitter or Demultiplexer or Demux etc. etc.)
2) Which MPEG-2 Video Decoder you use (a.k.a filter or codec etc.)

Here are the combinations i tried and the problems i got

COMBO 1:
---------------
1)Splitter/Demultiplexer - HDTV Pump
2)MPEG-2 Video Decoder - DScaler MPEG-2 Video Decoder
The PROBLEM with this combo - Poor Seeking/Image Problems/Crashing/(because of HDTV Pump) Some audio streams gave sharp clicks or screeches

COMBO 2:
---------------
2)MPEG-2 Video Decoder - Gabest Universal Open Source MPEG Video Decoder v1.0.0.3
The PROBLEM with this combo - Non-Specific Image Problems/(because of HDTV Pump) Some audio streams gave sharp clicks or screeches

COMBO 3:
---------------
2)MPEG-2 Video Decoder - Stinky's MPEG-2 Codec 1.2.0.79